March 28, 2024, 10:13:16 AM

News:

"Welcome to WiseWomenUnite.com -- When adult children marry and leave home, life can sometimes get more complex instead of simpler.  Being a mother-in-law or daughter-in-law can be tough.  How do we extend love and support to our mothers-in-law, adult children, daughters-in-law, sons-in-law, and grandchildren without interfering?  What do we do when there are communication problems?  How can we ask for help when we need it without being a burden?  And how do our family members feel about these issues?  We invite you to join our free forum, read some posts... and when you're ready...share your challenges and wisdom."

Useful Book

Started by Sunny1, August 17, 2010, 10:23:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sunny1

I know I'm a newbie and a DIL that's swimming in a pool of mostly MIL's, but I'm also the mother of a teenage son and I know that someday he will marry. My prayers for him have always been for his health and safety, and that his eyes will always be open to the truth. I'm ever more praying though that I will not become a MIL toward any future DIL of mine like my MIL is towards me.

That being said, I wanted to share a book that was extremely helpful to both my DH and I. I don't intend this to be a MIL basher, but an eye opener.

The book is:  Toxic In-Laws by Susan Froward, PhD

I know that my story, as is everyone else's,  is unique.  My MIL truly is bipolar and I personally believe she's genuinely narcissistic, but this is also the woman that raised my DH, so her behavior was his normal. He really didn't know any different and refused to believe any different either. He was raised to believe that everyone else lived in dysfunctional families except for them, they were perfect. My DH was 27 before he read this book and found out that his "perfect " world was just as imperfect as the rest of ours except he had spent the last 27 years being manipulated.

cremebrulee

Hi Sunny1 and welcome