March 28, 2024, 11:00:57 PM

News:

"Welcome to WiseWomenUnite.com -- When adult children marry and leave home, life can sometimes get more complex instead of simpler.  Being a mother-in-law or daughter-in-law can be tough.  How do we extend love and support to our mothers-in-law, adult children, daughters-in-law, sons-in-law, and grandchildren without interfering?  What do we do when there are communication problems?  How can we ask for help when we need it without being a burden?  And how do our family members feel about these issues?  We invite you to join our free forum, read some posts... and when you're ready...share your challenges and wisdom."

A daily battle

Started by shiny, March 04, 2013, 04:07:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

shiny

As a newbie, I've yet to post the story about my situation, but I do want to participate in this helpful forum. After reading much of the posts here, I've been greatly encouraged from the various wise comments.
My AD is thirty-something and for the past eight years, our relationship has been one rocky road.
And no one knows why. Not one person in the family can figure her out. We have asked her till blue in the face if we offended her. No answer. We've asked for forgiveness if we have. No response.
So basically, DH and I have quit beating our heads against the bric wall, but it still hurts.
It's painful when the GKs had birthday party last week and we were not included. It didn't use to be this way when they were younger.
It's also painful when DH called her (after not hearing fom her for a month) and informed her of his cancer diagnosis, and she doesn't call him to see how he's doing.
I'm reminded of Luise's comment that we were whole people before having children and we can be whole again.
I understand now that it was MY expectation to have a loving, extended family when my kids were grown, but it is an unfulfilled expectation, and disappoints.