March 28, 2024, 09:45:38 AM

News:

"Welcome to WiseWomenUnite.com -- When adult children marry and leave home, life can sometimes get more complex instead of simpler.  Being a mother-in-law or daughter-in-law can be tough.  How do we extend love and support to our mothers-in-law, adult children, daughters-in-law, sons-in-law, and grandchildren without interfering?  What do we do when there are communication problems?  How can we ask for help when we need it without being a burden?  And how do our family members feel about these issues?  We invite you to join our free forum, read some posts... and when you're ready...share your challenges and wisdom."

Grandchild's Birthday

Started by vptink, July 31, 2009, 11:18:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

vptink

I'm new to this so please have patience.  My DIL has had issues since day one which I have tried to love away.  Needless to say the loving away hasn't worked that well because I am now here trying to find answer for some peace of mind.  My grandchilds birthday is tomorrow and I found out just yesterday after sending her a birthday card in the mail that I thought she would enjoy receiving that she is having a family birthday party and we weren't told about it or invited to.  My son in passing said he beleived it might be tomorrow's date (he said this two weeks ago) but wasn't sure and had no idea of the time.  Earlier this week I had text my DIL to find out what size clothes to buy my grand daughter as a gift and never received a answer back.  She very seldom answers when I call their house and never returns any phone or text messages I leave unless of course she needs a favor.  As most of the other posts I read on here our relationship is almost non-exsitant she had so many sad issues growing up it seems the easiest thing for her is to tune most people out of her life except this mother daughter love hate relationship she has with her mom.  Not being invited or usually being asked as a after thought to a function