March 28, 2024, 12:20:20 PM

News:

"Welcome to WiseWomenUnite.com -- When adult children marry and leave home, life can sometimes get more complex instead of simpler.  Being a mother-in-law or daughter-in-law can be tough.  How do we extend love and support to our mothers-in-law, adult children, daughters-in-law, sons-in-law, and grandchildren without interfering?  What do we do when there are communication problems?  How can we ask for help when we need it without being a burden?  And how do our family members feel about these issues?  We invite you to join our free forum, read some posts... and when you're ready...share your challenges and wisdom."

How Do I Change So It Doesn't Hurt So Bad

Started by LadyD, April 30, 2011, 09:19:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Smilesback@u

I am new to WWU and do not know how to exactly show you support other than letting you know you are not alone.  Go ahead and stand up for yourself -- you have a bond with your family that cannot be broken and that doesn't entitle anyone to hurt you.  It is a shock to get hurt by your own family, but detaching with love is excellent advice.  In my history, I have experienced unrealistic expectations and threatened with no visits unless I meet them.  I am calling their bluff on my next visit...We will go on see them this Friday at great expense since they moved away last October.  We will be flying across country, renting a car and staying 9 days in a nearby B&B around the corner. I am setting limits on what I will and will not do as a GM, just like I did as a mother of 3 sons.  Only now, with the support of WWU, I am going to do it smiling, laughing and basically enjoying the heck out of seeing the GK.  I will sleep in, I will fend for myself for meals, I will arrange time to see the GK -- but I will not be sleeping in a pull out couch in their living room where there is no privacy, and I will not be woken up whenever the girls get up (typically early being 5:00 am) and I will not cook -