April 23, 2024, 04:40:13 PM

News:

"Welcome to WiseWomenUnite.com -- When adult children marry and leave home, life can sometimes get more complex instead of simpler.  Being a mother-in-law or daughter-in-law can be tough.  How do we extend love and support to our mothers-in-law, adult children, daughters-in-law, sons-in-law, and grandchildren without interfering?  What do we do when there are communication problems?  How can we ask for help when we need it without being a burden?  And how do our family members feel about these issues?  We invite you to join our free forum, read some posts... and when you're ready...share your challenges and wisdom."

Feeling Ashamed

Started by Kennedy, April 19, 2011, 08:33:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kennedy

Hello Ladies,
I've been reading here for awhile and I've replied in a few threads. But this is my first Post so forgive any mistakes I may make. I'm still learning.

I'll try to give you a little back ground about myself. Hopefully someone can share some advice with me?
  :-[

Like many women I married my husband right out of high school. We started having children only a year later. So I've been a wife and mother all but 19 years of my life.
We all have dreams when we are young and mine was to be a Wife and Mother. So I've lived my dream and I've loved every second of it!!

Also like many Mothers, It was a huge adjustment for me when one by one they moved out of the house and started building a life and their own families.
As parents raising them to stand on their own and make a good life for themselves is our goal.
I never wanted a 30 year old laying around on my sofa. So I knew they would leave home one day.
What I didn't know was that  all the emotions that would hit me. It shook me to my core and made me feel unsure of who I even was as a person.

Finding out *who* I am. Without the role of Caretaker/Mother is a whole other bag of worms that I won't get into right now. :P