April 18, 2024, 02:43:13 AM

News:

"Welcome to WiseWomenUnite.com -- When adult children marry and leave home, life can sometimes get more complex instead of simpler.  Being a mother-in-law or daughter-in-law can be tough.  How do we extend love and support to our mothers-in-law, adult children, daughters-in-law, sons-in-law, and grandchildren without interfering?  What do we do when there are communication problems?  How can we ask for help when we need it without being a burden?  And how do our family members feel about these issues?  We invite you to join our free forum, read some posts... and when you're ready...share your challenges and wisdom."

A Suprise I did not expect for Christmas

Started by dablacks, December 24, 2010, 12:44:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JaneF

Morningdove, first let me say I am not a professional and I agree you need to address these emotional issues with someone that is a professional. When I read your post it was like I was reading my own life story, no joke! My ex husband was also abusive, and we recently discovered he is bipolar. My son who will be 30 soon is also bipolar and like you said, about every two years he goes into a rage and calls me awful names or he does stupid stuff like cheat on his wife or use drugs etc. My son recently cut me out of his life, so I do not talk to him or daughter in law, nor do I see grandaughters. I have been depressed by these things before myself, so I understand how you feel. I chose to go get help and counseling at that time...and it did a world of good! It was suggested to me many many years ago by a therapist that my husband (now ex husband) had gay issues too! We divorced 24 years ago. There are many wise ladies here that can offer you support and kindness. A lot of us have very similar circumstances. Blessings to you.

Faithlooksup